‘Beautiful People Will Ruin Your Life’ – The Wombats


  1. Cheetah Tongue
  2. Lemon To a Knife Fight
  3. Turn
  4. Black Flamingo
  5. White Eyes
  6. Lethal Combination
  7. Out of My Head
  8. I Only Wear Black
  9. Ice Cream
  10. Dip You in Honey
  11. I Don't Know Why I Like You But I Do

Beautiful People Will Ruin Your Life is the fourth studio album from The Wombats and it sees the trio continue to assert themselves as one of the biggest and best guitar pop sensations of our time.

Having previously released their Glitterbug record in 2015, The Wombats return with an album that was written from three corners of the globe, over long distance writing sessions – drummer Dan Haggis in London, bassist Tord Øverland Knudsen in Oslo and frontman Murph in Los Angeles – supplemented by intense two-week in-person sessions in Oslo.

With the addition of producers Mark Crew (previously working with Bastille, Rag’n’Bone Man) and Catherine Marks (previously working with Wolf Alice), the album finds The Wombats pushing doing what they do best, by pushing the boundaries of alternative-pop music through innovation, with a lush, ultramodern indie soundscape wrapped in Blade Runner-esq synths, future grooves, celestial solos and space age melodies throughout this 11-track album.

The Wombats’ frontman Murph explains:

“I wanted to make an album that had more swagger, was a bit more laid back, something that wasn’t punching you in the face every time you listen to it. On every level, musically and interpersonally, we’re much closer.”

Putting together a solid mix of psychedelic euphoria and dark disfunction, Beautiful People Will Ruin Your Life captures The Wombats’ unique pairing of irrepressible hooks and tragi-comic lyricism with a newfound maturity and moving emotional depth. Together, the Liverpool-formed trio have created a record that’s still instantly sing-along but demands to be taken seriously.