‘Big Skies’ – Mere Women



  1. Eternally
  2. Silver and Gold
  3. Birthday
  4. BIg Skies
  5. Curse
  6. Drive
  7. Visitor
  8. Is This Real?
  9. Come Back
  10. Numb
  11. The Rooves
  12. Wanderer

Big Skies is the third album from Sydney’s Mere Women (Amy Wilson on vocals/keys, Flyn Mckinnirey on guitar and Kat Byrne on drums). Featuring 12 tracks full of grungy-rock, solid lyrical work from front woman Amy Wilson’s melodies, however, the major focus of the album is storytelling.

The main story of the album explores themes of women’s experiences over generations, and the simultaneous isolation and confinement felt by many women living in regional communities over the course of 12 songs.

Having previously given fans a taste of the third album with ‘Eternally‘ and the album’s title track ‘Big Skies‘, Mere Women showed more of their diverse sound-scape work by using their basic efforts of percussion, using keys, drums and simple strokes of the guitar.

With songs like ‘Curse’ (keys-driven organic sounding), to ‘Drive’ (Punk-esq – and my our favourite song on the album), to ‘Visiter’ (which sounds like something out of 2001: A Space Odyssey), to ‘Is This Real’ (sounds like it would fit perfectly within a Best Coast record), and ‘Numb’. This album is multi-layered with so many elements that makes it an album worth having in your collection.

Mere Women’s third album ‘Big Skies’ drops this friday.