Author: Category: Australia, InterviewTag:

WEBSITE | FACEBOOK | TWITTER | SPOTIFY | ITUNES

Shaun Kirk is a blues/soul musician out of Melbourne, Victoria and prior to heading out on the road for big 30+ show tour for his new single ‘Howlin’ At The Moon‘, I spoke with Shaun Kirk; catching him just as he got off the plane in Sydney this morning.

Back in February, Shaun released the first piece of material in nearly three-to-four years. The last time Shaun had released music was the 2014 release of his ‘Steer The Wheel‘ record.

It has been “almost four years since I last released music. It’s been an interesting couple of years,” explains Shaun.

Going into detail as to why Shaun had taken time to release another track, Shaun explains how he had “been through a lot of; kind of mental stuff over the last couple of years,” involving the time he had a mishap with his record label.

Not letting a mishap like the past stop Shaun; Shaun explains how you can only learn from things like that and move on, as it shouldn’t stop you from doing what you want to do.

“I don’t plan on stopping anytime soon. I see doing this for the rest of my life.”

To celebrate the release of Shaun Kirk’s new single Howlin’ At The Moon’, the Melbourne native is currently on the road for his lengthy 30+ show tour – 35 or so – seeing the blues artist traveling from all Australia and parts of New Zealand – with two shows having already taken place March 4 and 8 – from Friday 9th March at The Newsagency in Sydney to Friday 18 May at the Blues on Broadbeach on the Gold Coast.

“I just love playing shows and traveling. I’m just really passionate about traveling and trying to get to as many new places as I can.”

With stops off in festivals along the way, this is a big tour for Shaun. Speaking on the tour, Shaun explains how “that is always how” he has toured.

HOWLIN AT THE MOON TOUR:
Friday, 9th March – The Newsagency, Sydney, NSW
Saturday, 10th March – Rad Bar, Wollongong, NSW
Sunday, 11th March – Smiths Alternative, Canberra, ACT
Friday, 16th March – Four5Nine, Perth, WA
Saturday, 17th March – Nukara Music Festival, Geraldton, WA
Friday, 23rd March – Major Toms, Kyneton, VIC
Saturday, 24th March – Saints & Sailors, Portarlington, VIC
Thursday, 29th March – Monday April 2nd – Byron Bay Bluesfest, NSW
Wednesday, 4th April – The Wine Cellar, Auckland, NZ
Friday, 6th April – Dome Cinema, Gisborne, NZ
Saturday, 7th April – Brew, Rotorua, NZ
Sunday, 8th April – Tauranga Entertainers Club, Tauranga, NZ
Thursday, 12th April – Caroline, Wellington, NZ
Friday, 13th April – Le Cafe, Picton, NZ
Sunday, 15th April – Wunderbar, Christchurch, NZ
Friday, 20th April – Bison Bar, Sunshine Coast, QLD
Saturday, 21st April – The Milk Factory, Brisbane, QLD
Sunday, 22nd April – Hotel Brunswick – Brunswick Heads, NSW
Friday, 27th April – Wheatsheaf Hotel, Adelaide, SA
Saturday, 28th April – Jamieson Autumn Festival, Jamieson, VIC
Wednesday, 2nd May – Bank Coffee House & Wine Bar, Warragul, VIC
Thursday 3rd May – Jack Greene, Hobart TAS
Friday, 4th May – The Skylark Room, Upwey, VIC
Saturday, 5th May – Narara Music Festival, Kariong, NSW
Friday, 11th May – Gasometer Hotel, Melbourne, VIC
Saturday, 12th May – Baby Black Cafe, Bacchus Marsh, VIC
Friday 18 May – Sunday 20th May – Blues on Broadbeach, Gold Coast, QLD

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *