GUM (Tame Impala’s Jay Watson) releases first tastes of his new solo record with double singles ‘S.I.A.’ & ‘The Underdog’

GUM is the moniker of Tame Impala/POND multi-instrumentalist Jay Watson and recently GUM released a new taste of his solo project with the release of a double single; to give fans a taste of his new solo project and forthcoming record ‘The Underdog’, due out in March.

The two singles are ‘S.I.A‘ and ‘The Underdog‘, both are full of feel-good, powerful pop/electronic vibes with S.I.A. being described as “a Russian advert for shaving razors from the year 2080”.

GUM explains, “I liked the idea of it being really organic electronic music, kind of groovy but also really cold and mechanical sounding.”

The thing I like about S.I.A. more than The Underdog are the worldly vibes they both showcase in their own way, S.I.A. gives off this recurring, bubble gum beats, and The Underdog showcases a big bang, spiritual feel to it.

Have a listen to both tracks below.

GUM TOUR DATES

AUSTRALIA
Sat, Mar 31 | The Bird, Perth
Fri, Apr 6 | Yah Yah’s, Melbourne, VIC
Sat, Apr 7 | By The Meadow, Bambra, VIC
Wed, Apr 11 | Oxford Art Factory, Sydney, NSW
Thu, Apr 12 | The Brightside, Brisbane, QLD

US
Wed, Apr 18 | Masonic Lodge, Los Angeles, CA
Thu, Apr 19 | The Independent, San Francisco, CA
Sun, Apr 22 | Baby’s All Right, Brooklyn, NY

UK/EU
Tue, Apr 24 | Oslo Hackney, London UK
Wed, Apr 25 | Melkweg, Amsterdam NE
Thu, Apr 26 | Supersonic, Paris FR

Share this delicious song :

More Posts

Leave a Reply